He Maketh Me to Lie Down

Green pastures.  Oh the thought of gentle streams of cool water, warm sunshine, soft grass.  Quiet rest.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul.  Psalm 23:1-3

A restored soul.

Today at my house progress is being made, and I’ve been made to lie down.  My “cold” has practically overcome me.  The pain and discomfort demand my attention and have slowed me to a stand-still.  All attempted remedies for relief have failed miserably (no pun intended).

To top things off, a construction company is here replacing the sewer line of the house.  Noise, dust, mud, sewage, freezing cold air as they go in and out of the house to carry out all of the debris.  I am thankful today that they know what they are doing, and that I am not doing it!  To say that my normal routine has been altered is an understatement.  No running water – no flushing of toilets – you get the picture.  Thank you Lord that this cold is not the flu!

I have been made to lie down, and I am envisioning the green pastures and the still waters.  He is restoring my soul and my body despite my circumstances.  I was told once that sheep will only drink from still waters.  Moving waters frighten them.  God has given me a place where 1) I am not afraid and 2) I can drink deeply from the cool water of His life.

Choosing joy in the midst of chaos is easy when I truly rest with my savior.  His joy and peace fill my heart.  He reminds me of His promises of love, protection, and life everlasting where there will be no more tears and no more suffering.  What great hope He brings to me.  He restores my soul.

I don’t know what your life’s circumstances have brought to you today, but I hope that whatever they may be, you may rest with our gentle shepherd Jesus by the still quiet waters and allow Him to restore your soul.

Looking forward to eternity with Him.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Matthew 8.24

Leave a Reply

