Trusting God in the Mysterious Unknown

Does anyone have all of life’s answers?  No, but I know the one who is greatest, who created life, who does have all the answers.  God.

His Word is truth.  It is a lamp to light the path so that we will not stumble as we walk.  He has all the answers.  I don’t.  There are many unknowns that can trip us up when we try to walk by sight without faith.  We want to have all the answers.  Many Christians want to have all the answers, but we simply cannot know it all.  We must believe.  We must walk by faith.  We must learn to trust in our Creator.

Pastor Alistair Begg urges Christians to “major on the major things and minor on the minor things”.  In other words, make sure you know the important stuff and let the trivial items sort themselves out.  Don’t be tripped up on the minor things and completely miss the major things.  Don’t strain out the gnats only to swallow the camels.  Don’t throw the baby out with the bath water. (Ok, I’ll stop now.) But you get the picture.  Don’t go to hell because you simply couldn’t understand, or agree with, everything in the Bible.  Understand the salvation message of the gospel of Jesus Christ, and then start understanding how that should affect your life.  Talk to Jesus about the things you don’t understand or agree with, and His Holy Spirit will help you.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.  Isaiah 55:8-9

The mysteries of God are great.  They are beyond this fleshly brain’s ability to comprehend.  I know my limitations, and I know my great God.  I trust in His ability to understand and make sense of this world, even when I cannot.  He loves me so I can rest in Him in those mysteriously confusing unknown situations when life just doesn’t make sense.  I can rest in Him when the circumstances of my life are completely out of my control; which, in reality, is all the time, every moment of every day.

As we draw closer to God, He reveals to us more and more of Himself and His truth.

Father God, You’ve told us in Your word that if we seek You and obey You that You will show us great and mysterious things that we could not know.  Help us to walk in faith with You into Your great mystery.  Help us to let go of the reigns and let You take the lead in our lives.  Thank You Jesus that You alone are faithful and worthy of great praise!  Amen.

You don’t need to know it all, you just need to know Him.

Be encouraged.  Trust in Jesus.  Press on.

Psalm 65.4

Leave a Reply

