God Is In Control – You Aren’t

It has been one of those mornings.

Some days you get the bear, some days the bear gets you.

Actually, in the big scheme of things, today has already been a blessing – I woke up.  It just didn’t start the way I had anticipated it would.  (Can you hear God laughing?)  Generally before I climb out of bed, I’ve laid there for a time in prayer giving my day to God for whatever He has planned.

Today, however, my dog woke me up way too early.  My husband was outside (dealing with the snow) without her.  I finally relented, got up and let her out, then up again to let her in.  It is too cold for her to be out for too long.  I climbed back into bed and tried getting warmed back up to go back to sleep.  That is when the phone rang, school is canceled for the day due to the snow storm.  So now I’m up again, off to the basement to inform little bit.  I’m met by the cat who insists that he did not get fed yesterday (little bit’s responsibility).  He tattles on her all the time.  So I insist that she get up and feed her pet, and then I tell her about the school cancellation.  At this point, there is no going back.  I’m wide awake.

Life tends to interrupt us.  Accidents, illnesses, children, weather, pets, you name it.  They can all throw us off of the course we had planned.  My old self used to get really irritated over these diversions.  My new self (Thank you Jesus!) has learned that these situations don’t surprise God.  He allows them in my life to shape me.  What seems like an interruption to me, is often a blessing waiting to happen. God’s ways are not man’s ways.  Life isn’t about me.  It is about His glory.  How I respond to the unexpected in this life reveals my true nature.  If I am secure in Jesus Christ, then these trials of life won’t toss me about like a leaf on a raging stream.  If I am secure in Jesus Christ, He is my ballast.  My ship stays strong and secure even through the most dangerous storms of life.  When things are out of my control, He is still completely in control. 

He leads the humble in what is right, and teaches the humble his way. All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness, for those who keep his covenant and his testimonies. Psalm 25:9-10

I’m not sure what else this day will bring, but I know that my trust remains in Jesus; my strength, my rock, my redeemer.  He is always at my side.  My help comes from the Lord.  I am so grateful for the example that Job gives us.  He had everything but his life and his wife stripped away from him.  Everything.  Wealth, children, health.  Even his friends who tried their best to support and encourage him, tried to help him discover why God would punish him in such a way as this – he must have been living a very sinful life, they reasoned.  But in the midst of this terrible trial, Job refused to turn his face and his trust away from God.  God’s supremacy is absolute.  God had blessed Job and God allowed the blessings to be removed.  Ultimately He poured out more blessings than Job had before.  If you’ve never read the story of Job, I encourage you to open your Bible today and read about it.  There is a great conversation between God and Job in there!

So, I’m up now Lord.  The sun is rising again.  You have blanked everything around me with beautiful white powder.  I don’t know what You have planned for me today Lord, but I am ready to be used by You to be a blessing to whomever you place in my path.  Thank You for the good deeds that You have prepared in advance for me to do.  This is the day that You have made and I will rejoice in it!  I love You.  Amen.

You already have victory in Christ Jesus.  Seek His face.  Go be a blessing.  Follow Him.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Jeremiah 33.3

Leave a Reply

