Steadfast Love

I am sitting at my desk as the sun is just rising above the houses next door.  Quietly waiting on the Lord to speak to me.  The dishwasher is humming and swishing in the next room.  The clock is ticking off the seconds of my day as I wait, somewhat impatiently for what it is that I am supposed to write about today.  Just outside my den window, the mourning doves are perched in the maple tree.  The temperature out there for them this morning is -10f.  They are a miracle to me.  God’s glory is shining all around me.  From the rays of the sun announcing a new day with new mercies, to the pinging of the baseboard heater as the warm water flows through the cold metal gently warming our house on this frozen morning. Little bit is sleeping away tucked in her warm bed downstairs.  She won’t stir for a few more hours when I wake her up.  Typical teenager on a “no school” day.

The slowness of the morning that allows me to notice the small things in life that I would have missed if I was hurrying through my day – it is a gift.  This is the day that the Lord has made.  Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

A few weeks ago, some of my girlfriends and I were discussing how none of us is content.  How we all think that the others have it better off.  How we tend to believe we’d be happier if….something changed.  We determined that the error in this thinking is that we only see the good parts that we want to see and not the drudgery that is in the hidden parts of life.  The truth is that I am where God wants me to be in this season of life.  And that is my joy.

I will rejoice in my day today.  I will be glad, for God’s mercies are new today.  My circumstances are temporary.  My God is eternal.  I will praise His glorious name.

I’ve been procrastinating on some bigger tasks that involve letting go of stuff.  I need to use this time, where I am forced inside, to go through the things we have and decide what we want to keep.  Spring will be here soon and I’ll want to be outside.  So today, I will take a step of faith and tackle one closet or maybe two, depending on how the first one goes.  I have walking to do, Spanish to learn, scriptures to read, chores to complete, meals to prepare and I get to spend some unexpected time with little bit today.  God is good.

Father God, I pray that in the smallness of life that I can bring You praise for Your greatness.  In the routine of my days, I pray that my eyes remain focused on You and that my hands will be put to work toward Your kingdom.  Help me today, as I sort through the many blessings you’ve given us, to only hold on to those things that will benefit Your purposes in my life.  I don’t want to be weighed down with things any longer.  Help me to love others well today and to lift them up in my prayers as my hands are working quietly at home.  May my humble work today be pleasing in Your sight.  Amen.

Wherever you are, whatever you do, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the father through Him.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Psalm 118

Leave a Reply

