The Path, The Way

but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;  Isaiah 40:31a….

I’ve talked about the consequences of running ahead of the Lord before, but this verse struck me anew this morning.  Those who WAIT for the Lord…funny how one little, skimmed-over word can stop you in your tracks.  I’ve read this verse many, many times before.  Sometimes God’s word almost jumps off the page at you.

We renew our strength not when we rely upon the Lord (although that may be true as well) but when we wait for Him.  Our human tendency to know what is best, and move forward without Him, leaves us weak.  We use up all of our energy and strength trying to do things with our own power.  But when we wait on Him, He will renew our strength as we rely on His power, and our path will be straight and lit by His light.

In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:6

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. Psalm 119:105

I love all of the path and walking references in scripture.  2,000 years ago, they didn’t travel at high speeds in vehicles.  They went most everywhere on foot by a path.  There are many obstacles when you walk along a path, but with Jesus, our paths become flat, smooth roads and He lights the way for us, if we wait for Him to do the leading.

Lord Jesus, today, I will listen for Your voice.  I pray that You will direct my steps and help me to know with clarity when I am to move and where.  Let me wait for You in peace and assurance that You work all things for my good.  I love You Lord.  Amen.

Be encouraged.  Rest in Him.  Press on.

Colossians 3.2

Leave a Reply

