Heaven or Hell – It is Your Choice – His Gift

My husband and I were laughing about all the “processes” I go through each night.  So many that I could really use a checklist so that I don’t forget anything.  This is a more recent occurrence as I am aging, and my body has been going through menopause.  I’ve tried to take all of these little annoying changes in stride, being thankful for ALL things.  And for the most part, I’ve been pretty successful on that front.  But reality is that I’m pretty much a hot mess, as they would say.

We are able to laugh because we’ve been through tougher stuff; a lot tougher.  These trials have deepened our faith and revealed to us who God really is.  Not that we completely know Him – that comes, if it is even possible, when we get to see Him face to face on the other side of this life.  But He has proved Himself faithful to us time and time again when it really counts.  These little annoyances of life become laughable.

Things that I used to take for granted, have stopped working and have become high maintenance items.  I expect that this will continue.  Loss of hearing, loss of memory, loss of eye sight, slower reflexes, weaker muscles, digestion issues, skin issues, and on and on it declines.  It is all part of life.  This body is wasting away day by day.  Death is the final result.  Back to dust I will go.

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. 2 Corinthians 4:16

But for today, I have been graced by God with breath in my lungs, a fairly right mind and a purpose – to bring Glory to His great name.  It is easy in life to focus on what isn’t working as you think it should.  The greater way, the better way, is to praise God for all that is working well, for the lessons learned when things don’t work well, and for the blessings of peace and contentment that a relationship with Jesus gives us in this broken world.

I praise God that this isn’t all there is to life.  Our pastor called this life on earth a meaningful difficulty – a purposeful suffering that brings us to become more like our Savior Jesus Christ.  It is in the trials that our faith is strengthened.  It is in the darkness that we see the light.  As we struggle, we are strengthened.  As we ask for wisdom, He provides it generously.

So let us give thanks for ALL things.  Let us love others well (in spite of our being a hot mess).  Let us go into all the nations teaching the gospel and proclaiming Jesus Christ while we still have breath in our lungs.

God is good, All the time! He has a plan for us.  He gave His only Son for us.  He wants to call us His own.

It is funny (sad) to me how much thought, time, and money people in America spend on deciding how and where they will live after they retire and how little thought, time and money they spend deciding where they will live after they die This life ends in death for all of us.  Death is part of life.  Where will you go after this?  I know what my answer is and I hope that you do too.  Jesus Christ is the ONLY way to eternal life in heaven with God.  He is the only one who can raise your cold, dead body out of the grave.

Seek Him.  Confess your sins.

…because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.  Romans 10:9

Accept Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior.  Follow Him.  I’ll see you there!

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Romans 10.13

Leave a Reply

