The Building of My Faith – Daily Manna

If you’ve read my blog for very long, you may have picked up on the fact that this blog started out of a calling from God.  He made it very evident that I was to write, but what He did not communicate was WHAT I was to write about.  Since there seems to be an overabundance of blogs on every conceivable topic, I was very hesitant (disobedient) to start writing.  I determined that if I was to write, that there would be only one thing that I would/could write about – Jesus.  My writing would be a testimony about what He is doing in my life.

Each time that I found time to write, I’d sit in front of a blank Word document page and pray.  Ok Lord, I’m here to write, now what am I supposed to write about.  Then after some time, He would bring the ideas to mind and off I’d go.  It takes me generally an hour or more to write a blog post with the scriptures and pictures.  Finding the quiet time where I could listen to Him, uninterrupted for that length of time, was difficult.

After several months of blogging, I thought that I should “work smarter” not harder.  It seemed to me that I should create a 6 month plan of the topics I would write about – organize them and even time them to the season of year etc.  That would help reduce the amount of time I was investing and hopefully organize my blog a bit more around topical series of postings.  It would even eliminate the days of no blog posting when I didn’t have the time to write.  That is when God reigned me in again.  He made it very evident that I was to write what He directed me to each daykind of like daily manna.

The people of Israel ate the manna forty years, till they came to a habitable land. They ate the manna till they came to the border of the land of Canaan.  Exodus 16:35

I guess I’ve always been rushing ahead of Jesus.  Anticipating where I think He’s heading and trying to arrive way before I am supposed to be there.  It is a bit of a control issue at its core.  If I can anticipate what is going to happen, I can prepare for it and hopefully get an outcome that I am pleased with.  It revealed my distrust of Jesus that He has it all under control and that His outcomes are better than anything I could prepare for.

I think this season of daily manna has really revealed to me that God never leaves me.  You see, He will often give me blog topics when I’m not at the computer, now that I’m listening to Him more.  He causes me to pause when life happens to reflect on the spiritual aspects of life and how His word guides our path.  He has this way of saying, “HEY, daughter!  Pay attention to this.  See.”  It has caused a deep reliance on Him for guidance.  Just like the Israelites in the dessert.  Manna for today.

And he humbled you and let you hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know, nor did your fathers know, that he might make you know that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord. Deuteronomy 8:3

I hope that you are relying each day on God’s manna.  You may have to strip away the distractions that this world has all around you in order to hear Him; but He is with you all the time just waiting for you to say, “Ok God, I’m here to ____.  Now what?”  Take that first step of obedience to what He is calling you to do and then ask Him what is next.  He will reveal it to you in His time.  Don’t rush ahead or you’ll miss His blessings in the moment.

Thank You Lord, for providing what is needed.  Thank You for equipping those You call.  Thank You for helping me to patiently wait until You say the time is right.  You are faithful and merciful to me when I don’t deserve it.  Forgive me Lord when I fail to hear You or to do what You’ve asked of me.  I love You Lord Jesus.  Amen.

Waiting on God is just a season of preparation.  Rest in Him there. 

Listen for His voice.  Live by His word.

Here we are Lord.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Deuteronomy 8.3

Leave a Reply

