I’m Working On It – Renewing My Mind

Last week I started doing some much needed cleaning and organizing of the spaces behind closed doors here at my house.  I started in the kitchen (and haven’t finished yet).  As I was pulling out long forgotten items, a thought struck me:  Some things just never seem to get tossed out!

Seriously, there were items that had been stored for more than 8 years without being used.

I’ve been on a mission to reduce; to live a simpler life with less.  To eliminate the things in life that are hindering me.  As I’ve cleared out literally tubs of items over the past year, I’ve also been working to eliminate the mental and emotional stuff that is hindering me.

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  Matthew 6:19-21

My treasure is God’s word.  But my house doesn’t yet reflect that.  I’m working on it.

Allowing His word to penetrate my heart, to renew my thinking (my mind) and to convict me of my selfish, wasteful lifestyle has been quite the process and it isn’t finished.  I still have many doors to open and sort through.  Many things that simply need to be tossed out.  I don’t know why I hold on to some things for so long when they are obviously of no good use to me.

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2

Having gone on two international mission trips and meeting my brothers and sisters in Christ who live more simply than I do has really transformed my heart.  I’m ashamed of my past choices, and I am empowered by God’s love to do better.  God has truly blessed me and my family.  We have all that we need and plenty to bless others with.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! Psalms 100:4

I’ve had to learn how and when to share these blessings to bring glory to God and not throw my pearls to the pigs.  I want to have a generous heart and to obey the Holy Spirit’s prompting.

Widows, orphans, the hungry, slavery, sex trafficking, etc.; there is something that honors God that each of us can do TODAY.

Our pastor spoke this past Sunday of how our behaviors can lead non-believers to see Jesus.  We must proclaim Him as our savior and Lord and then follow Him with our choices and actions.  If we are sharing the gospel, we’d better be living it. 

So take a few minutes today to open a door in your house and in your mind.  What is in there that needs to be tossed out?  What is in there that is of no use to you?  What is in there that might be a blessing to someone in need?

Lord, help me to make better choices.  Help me to be willing to let go of useless things.  I pray that my decisions will be glorifying to You.  Thank You Lord, for the many blessings You’ve given me.  Amen.

Be encouraged.  Be thankful.  Toss it out!  Press on.

1 Thessalonians 5.16-18

Leave a Reply

