Go Where He Sends You

I love December 31st.  It closes the book on the year before and offers the promise of a clean slate for the year ahead.  It was also my grandfather’s birthday.  I miss him.  A WWII vet, an avid gardner, a man of God who loved his family well.

My memory isn’t the best, which is why I think I love photo albums so much.  I have a hard time remembering all that happened last year.  Years somehow tend to get mixed together.  But what I do remember is how God was with me.  How He blessed me.  How He has changed my heart.  Material possessions have become a burden.  Less is more.  More time, more energy for the things that matter – relationship with God and with people. 

As I start a new year of life, I want to be intentional about it and not just let it slip past me.  I want to be a blessing to others and in so doing to bring glory to God.  To be at my best, I know that I have to improve my physical health as much as I can.  I have to continue to eliminate the unnecessary and the negative.  I must walk daily with Jesus in prayer and worship, in Bible study, and in fellowship with other believers.  I want to be a resource and a cheerleader for my loved ones, to encourage them in their relationship with God.  I want our family celebrations to be about our great God and not about ourselves.

So, I’ve committed to read through the Bible in a year again, only this time I’ll be doing so with a group of godly women.  I am grateful for the sister who stepped out in faith to organize this group.  I’ll press on to improve my Spanish language skills so that I can communicate God’s love to more people.  I’ll lead women’s Bible studies to share God’s word and what He’s teaching me with the other women around me who want to share and learn.  I’ll be walking – a lot.  I’d love to have others walk with me.  And most importantly I’ll be listening to God; ready to go where He sends me.

I hope that you’ll look back at this past year just a little bit, but more importantly, that you’ll look forward to the year before you.  What are your passions?  What has God uniquely gifted you to do?  What has He been nudging you to do that you are afraid of?  If you don’t like something in your life, change it.  No complaining (I need to hear this.).  Take it to God, listen to His guidance, seek godly counsel, and be ready to go where He sends you.  Don’t let fear or people or things keep you from obeying God’s will.  Press in close to Jesus.  Lean on Him.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

1 Peter 1.22

Leave a Reply

