One Week

I’ve always had a really bad sense of time passing.  When I’m on the treadmill and in pain, time seems to pass extremely slowly, but if I’m busily focused on a task that I really enjoy, time seems to fly by.  This past week has gone past me very quickly as I’ve been busy with family, learning, reading, and walking.  One week from now is Christmas Day.  I know this next week will go by just as fast.

I’d love to be able to slow time down to really enjoy the fun times and speed it up in my suffering times, but that isn’t how God has designed it.  I remember Billy Graham saying that each of us is allotted the same amount of time each day.  God is eternal.  He is beyond time.  So why would He give us such a sense of time passing?  I think it is to give us a glimpse of eternity.  Eternal life in hell will pass oh so slowly; torturously.   Yet eternal life in heaven will fly past us.  We’ll be focused on worshipping God not thinking about ourselves.

For all our days pass away under your wrath; we bring our years to an end like a sigh.
The years of our life are seventy, or even by reason of strength eighty;
yet their span is but toil and trouble; they are soon gone, and we fly away.
Who considers the power of your anger, and your wrath according to the fear of you?

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

Psalm 90:9-12

A Heart of Wisdom.

Wise enough to fear God and to see that our time on earth is limited, like a sigh.  We will soon meet Him face to face.  Do you fear Him?

O Lord, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days;

let me know how fleeting I am! Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths,

and my lifetime is as nothing before you.

Psalm 39:4-5

Christmas Day gives us an opportunity to remember the coming of our Lord Jesus – God with us.  It gives us a day to pause and right ourselves remembering the one who gives and takes life and remember who we are in Jesus Christ.

Do you fear Him?

Let us not focus on the here and now but on our eternity.  This life is short.  Eternity is coming quickly.

Do you know the babe in the manger?

Jesus came to us – God in human flesh – to save us from an eternity of suffering (talk about time passing slowly).  He paid the penalty for my sins and gave me His righteousness and peace.  His is the only name by which I can enter into eternity in Heaven with God.  I must know Him.  I must fear Him.  I must follow Him; this babe in the manger.

I pray that as this next week passes by, that my focus can be fixed upon my Savior Jesus Christ; that I’ll have eyes to see God’s work for me.  I pray that you too will be transfixed by His love for you.  I pray that you know God and fear Him.

Merry Christmas!  Prepare your heart.  Be encouraged.

Matthew 25.46

Leave a Reply

