Letting Go

The day I decided to tell my boss that I’d be leaving my job was the day I let go of the reigns.  I submitted to what God had been asking me to do for over a year.  He had pressed down on me so much so that I had to relent.  Leaving that job was difficult on so many levels, but being surrendered to Jesus as my Lord was where I needed to be.  I had so many unanswered questions and a lot of fear.  Over this last year, I’ve been learning to trust God; to rest in Him.  Letting go of the fear that was holding me back from Him.

Listen

See

Obey

Rest

While walking by the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon (who is called Peter) and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea, for they were fishermen. And he said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.”  Matthew 4:18-19

I am all about comfort – comfortable chairs, comfortable clothes, comfortable shoes.  Most of us naturally gravitate to what is comfortable for us.  My real comfort zone is when I have planned things out and feel in control of something, and this past year has been everything BUT that.  It has been more like wandering in the mist following after someone who I fully trust.  Not sure where we are going.  Desperately not wanting to lose sight of Him who is leading.  Laughing out loud when He asks me to do things I don’t believe that I can do – yet I trust Him enough to try.  He is faithful.  He is trustworthy.  He is good.  Let go and follow Him.

He’s calling you.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

Luke 9.23

Leave a Reply

