The Potter and The Clay

I started reading a book called “Mended – pieces of a life made whole” by Angie Smith.  I purchased this book (along with several other books) last year at the Women of Faith conference I attended.  Having read three of the other books, I now have a few weeks open to read and absorb what Angie has for us in this book.  It is something of a devotional book that challenges you to see who you are in Jesus Christ.  Today I read the first devotional – The Past and the Pitcher.  At the end of each devotion is a section for “mending” that gives the reader several things to do, think about, and process.  For me, this chapter immediately brought me back to Nicaragua as it opens with a passage of scripture in Jeremiah that was “lived out” in front of us as we all stood around a potter’s wheel.  My word for this devotion is “VESSEL”.

This life I have belongs to Jesus.  It is broken, battered and being renewed.  God is the potter and I am the clay – I am a vessel for His use.  We all are born into this broken, messed up world that leaves scars on us.  For some of us we are left shattered and broken.  Only God can remake us.  And when He does, we become something new and beautiful – still bearing the scars of this life.  I am His VESSEL.

In the first chapter Angie describes a time when God asked her to go and break a pitcher.  She did, and then asked Him, “Now what?”  To which God responded, “Now put it back together.”  Often, when God is guiding us along a path, He’ll give us one command at a time until we obey.  Angie could not have put it back together had she not obeyed Him in the breaking.  And for me, had God shown me where He was leading me, I may not have followed.  I need to take each step – separately – independently – trusting in His guiding me to the best place for His kingdom – not for my comfort.

The potter knitted me together in my mother’s womb with what I have seen as a flaw; what doctors have called a defect, but it is what He calls purpose – perfect for His use.  It isn’t comfortable for me.  It is very painful in fact.  But it is for His purpose and for His glory.  So as Paul did, I will rejoice in my suffering for it is in my weakness that God’s strength is displayed.

I’m headed out today on a long hike.  One that I know will be challenging.  But God is going with me.  I will spend a great deal of time with Him today and am blessed to be able to do so.  My prayer for you also is that you will know who you are in Christ Jesus.  Ephesians 3:14-21

Be who God created you to be.  Walk with Him in newness of life – His life.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

2 Corinthians 12.9

Leave a Reply

