It’s a Mom Thing

I am approaching being an empty nester.  The time with my children both drug on endlessly and flew by in a fury like sand running through your fingers.  Days spent wishing time away and days longing for the old days.  I seem to be hard to please!  One of my greatest ministry fields and the most challenging one has been to my two daughters.  It is difficult to minister to the people who see all of your ugly.  But praise God, He has done a mighty work in our lives.  His love and forgiveness have made all the difference in our home.  Not only have they been witness to my failings, they’ve been witness to God’s healing and His work in my life.  I’m not there yet, but I’m on the path!

Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.  Philippians 3:12

Motherhood is challenging – impossible without Jesus.  Raising up unique individuals with their unique needs in the ways of the Lord is a tall order.  I needed wise women who had been there to speak words of encouragement to me along the way.  I needed others to show me God’s ways.  I needed God to call me to trust in Him and to let go of my fears – let go of all of the “what ifs”.  I needed to study His word and use it appropriately for each child.  I needed His wisdom to see their hearts.  I needed His promptings to know when to intervene.  I struggled through.  I failed miserably.  Which kept me on my knees right where God could use me.

We still have our hurdles.  I’m still listening and learning.  Motherhood doesn’t end just because they are grown and gone.  It just changes.  Becoming a consultant mom – ready with suggestions when they need them.  Pointing them time and time again to the One who has the answers when I don’t.  Always here.  Always available.  Always cheering them on.  Always mom.

For those who are still in the struggle, seek God.  Surround yourself with godly women who have been there.  Ask for what you need in prayer.  Know that none of us are perfect.  We are all just doing the best we can with what we have and what we know.  God will stand in the gap for us if we allow Him to.  Teach your children to seek God first in their difficult times.  Help them to know and love Jesus.  Show them what God is doing in your life.  Set healthy boundaries and HOLD them tightly.  Give yourself and your children a lot of grace.  Love them like God loves you.

Walk with Jesus today.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

1 Corinthians 11.1

Leave a Reply

