God’s Great Grace

When I was in my teens, my Sunday School teacher told me about God’s great grace; His amazing grace.  I had been living my life believing that God’s love was conditional and that I’d failed to meet His conditions of perfection, holiness and righteousness.  The law had shown me my sin.  My failure.  My unworthiness.

Once you abandon the thought of going to heaven, the only purpose left in life is to please yourself now.  This life, this day, is all that you have.  Nothing good comes after death.  God met me there.  In that dark lost state.  His great grace brought light and hope back into my life.

Several years ago God’s great grace saved my marriage.  This time it was the filling of His grace in my life that enabled me to offer such grace to others.  Trusting in the One who is trustworthy gave me ground to stand on when all other ground became sinking sand.  He was holding on to me.

Today I continue to live in God’s abundant grace.  His mercies are new every morning.  I still fall far short of His holiness but I’m on the path.  With God’s love, I’m being molded to be more like Jesus – not perfectly, but increasingly so.  He has sealed me for eternity with His Holy Spirit and I am deeply in love with Him.

So today, may the Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace. (Numbers 6:24)  Rest in His great grace.  Offer grace to the loved ones in your life.  Know how much you are loved.  Be encouraged.  Press on.

2 Corinthians 12.9

Leave a Reply

