Knowing the Whole Truth

When my children were small I had to instruct them that partial truth is not truth.  Withholding information in order to deceive someone is wrong.  Satan loves to use this tool.

I have started reading a new book called “Classic Christianity” by Bob George.  So far it has been a blessing to me, reminding me of the whole gospel of Jesus Christ and who I am in God’s eyes because of Jesus.  In this book Bob pulls God’s whole truth and His plan into clear focus.  We all walk through this life behaving according to what we believe.  If we have erroneous Biblical beliefs, we will fall short of the abundant life that God has for us and easy prey for the father of lies.  I don’t know about you, but I’d like to live the most abundant, fruitful life for God that I can.

Having been dead in our sins, the one true God sent his one and only son to conquer sin and death in order that we may have everlasting life with God.  We were sinners – dead in our sin nature from conception.  Once we accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior, once we admit who we are and repent from our sinful ways, we receive God’s Holy Spirit as a sealing deposit for our eternal life.  We are reborn – born again – born in to spiritual LIFE.   Jesus conquered death so we could LIVE.  Fully live.

We are now saints in God’s eyes; not because of anything we’ve done, but because of everything Jesus has done.  It is finished.  No work for us to do – only life for us to live.

1 Peter 1:14-16  As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

Colossians 2:6-7  So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to LIVE IN HIM, rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught and overflowing with thankfulness.

I am so thankful that Jesus took away my sins (all of them were covered by His blood – even before I was born).  God has already finished the work of reconciling all humanity to himself by conquering sin and death through Jesus’ death and resurrection.  The only reason why any person is still “dead” is due to their unacceptance of Jesus Christ and His atoning work for them personally.  They have either been deceived or have simply chosen to disregard Christianity’s message of salvation and eternal life.

I remember being taught how to tell the gospel message with a simple drawing of man on one side of the page and God on the other separated by this vast chasm of sin and death…the cross of Christ laid across the chasm spanning it as a bridge so that man could reach God.  That bridge has been there since Jesus was resurrected.  Anyone can cross over from death to life if they choose to do so.  Once we have crossed the bridge, we are God’s – restored, reborn, no longer dead but alive in Christ Jesus.

Alive in Christ Jesus!  A saint saved by grace.  Ready to live a full, abundant life as God’s child.  I am thankful that I crossed that bridge that Jesus created.  His saving grace is a completed work.  The best gift I’ve ever received.  A gift I’d love for you to have as well.  I am thankful that I can walk each day with Jesus.  You can too and I hope you are.  Be encouraged.  Know who you are in Christ Jesus.  Press on.

Leave a Reply

