Where Are You From?

Over the past three weeks, I’ve had three different people, on three different occasions, ask me where I was from because of my accent.  The truth is I’m from the same location that they are from, and I have never thought I had an accent (although I’ve been told so since I was very young).  It made me think about where scripture says I am really from – where my true home is located – heaven.  I belong to God the Father and am a daughter of the King of Kings.  I hope you can claim the same truth.  All of us who belong to Jesus Christ are not from here.  According to God’s word, we are foreigners, travelers, exiles, aliens, and strangers here on earth.  Our eternal home is in eternity on the new earth with God.

1 Peter 2:11, Philippians 3:20, Ephesians 2:19 and more.  See http://home.comcast.net/~davidriggs01/home.htm.

I wonder if my Christian walk is as easy to recognize as my “accent”?  Do I look like a foreigner?  Do I act like an alien?  Am I homesick?  Do I feel at home when surrounded by my fellow citizens?

So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone, in whom the whole structure, being joined together, grows into a holy temple in the Lord.  Ephesians 2:19-21

Believers in Jesus Christ who have accepted Him as their Lord and Savior, who follow after Him and whom He knows are fellow heirs of God’s Kingdom.  We have been freed from the bondage of sin and adopted into the family of God.  Together we are being built into a holy temple.

I hope your accent is noticeable to those around you.  I hope you walk with God’s light being reflected to others.  I hope you know where your eternal home will be.  Be encouraged in your walk with Jesus today.  You are loved and cherished as God’s daughters and sons.  Press on.

Heavenly Father, help us to follow after Jesus Christ even when we look and sound weird to others.  Let our accent be one that is from You.  Let the light that we shine come from Your truth and Your love.  Thank You for giving us an eternal home in heaven.  Thank You for setting us free!  Amen.

John 8.35

Leave a Reply

