Jesus – the Grace of God

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age,  Titus 2:11-12

I stand forgiven only because of the sacrifice of Jesus Christ my Lord and my Savior.  Those darn worldly passions are very hard to identify and to renounce.  Our culture has infiltrated our lives to such a degree that we (the church) are blinded to it.  I pray that God will open my eyes to my sin that I may live a righteous life before Him.

I am burdened by the way we American Christians choose to spend God’s money.  I am burdened by the way we American Christians choose to spend the time God has graciously given us.  I see how satan has deceived us into thinking that such use of time and money is acceptable.  The truth is, we only have this one life and time is short.

Listening to a sermon by Charles Stanley yesterday he spoke of our calling as servants to Christ Jesus.  He spoke of how often when asked to serve in the church we respond with, “I’m too busy” or “Let me pray about that” or “I’ll have to check my schedule”.  God gives us opportunity after opportunity to be His hands and feet – to be blessed by serving others and often because of our use – OUR use, OUR sinful decisions – of His money and time, we are often left with little resources and unavailable to offer ourselves for His service.  We’ve forgotten that we were purchased at a price and are now slaves to Christ Jesus.

God’s grace is sufficient for me – for my shortcomings, and I pray that He’ll continue to open my eyes to the wasteful lifestyle that I lead.  I am thankful that He is training me to identify and renounce the ungodliness and worldly passions in my life and molding me to be like Jesus.  I pray that, as His body and His bride, we will step out in faith and obedience to His word – taking off our old selves and putting on the new self which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of our Creator.

We’ve tolerated hypocrisy, selfishness and greed at the expense of His Kingdom.  God forgive us.  Change us.  Purify us.  Circumcise our sinful nature, take away our hearts of stone and give us hearts of flesh. Open our eyes to see and our ears to hear Your truth.  Help us be obedient to You.  Thank You Lord, for Your grace and forgiveness.  Let us be zealous for good works that bring glory to Your name and that build Your Kingdom.  Amen.

Titus 2.13-14

Leave a Reply

