Heading North

I am heading north to visit a childhood/adolescent/whole life practically, sweet, dear friend and her family.  It has been several years since we’ve been able to see one another in person.  Raising our children in separate states kept our interaction and communication down to the occasional facebook pictures and our annual Christmas letters.  Last year when I received her letter I also received some hard news – my sweet friend had cancer.  Suddenly all of those “some day” plans to visit her moved up in priority.

There are very few people, outside of my family of origin, who have known me longer than she has.  We have great memories of our school days together – even our first borns arrived within a month of each other.  I am blessed to still have such a friend in my life.  I’m glad that she stuck through the years of silence to continue our friendship into this season of our lives.

Our lives are still full and busy.  Hers has included medical treatment, illness, more medical treatment and recovery in addition to college age and school age children, and all the rest of life that a full time mother orchestrates.  Finding the right time for our visit took us a while, but it is finally here.

As I’ve recently ventured out to do distance hiking, she invited me to participate with her in a fundraising walk for the American Cancer Society this Saturday – Making Strides Against Breast Cancer.  I cleared my calendar and took her up on her invitation.  I praise God that my friend is well.  That He’s supplied all of her needs in this time of trial.  That He has given us a few days to visit and catch up with one another.  I am mostly thrilled that we share the same faith, because when this life does end for us, whenever that may be, we’ll spend eternity worshipping God together.

Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life.  Psalm 54:4

That is the great hope that Christianity offers us through Jesus Christ; forgiveness, redemption, restoration with God, and life everlasting.  None of us are promised a tomorrow.  Be ready.  Accept Jesus as your Savior and Lord.  Live your life so that those you love know you love them.  Give glory to God by your faithfulness to Him – share His Word boldly with others.  Life is short.  Be a blessing to those around you today.

Be encouraged.  Press on.

Ephesians 4.4

Leave a Reply

