Another Day Walking with Jesus

It is cold outside.  The morning sun is shining brightly through my den window flooding my desk with light.  I hear birds chirping, dogs barking, clocks ticking and the soft, comforting pinging of my hot water heat system as it gently warms the room.  Another day has arrived and with it comes another opportunity to be a blessing to others as I lay down my life and pick up my cross to follow Jesus.  This is a sweet routine of my Christian life; prayer, filling my morning with His Words, singing praises to Him and listening for His still small voice.

And after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire the sound of a low whisper. 1 Kings 19:12

My to-do list is still there.  It includes things that didn’t get done yesterday as well as some things that won’t get done until tomorrow.  Medicines that need to be picked up (yep – forgot again), laundry that needs to be done, exercise, meeting friends for lunch, picking up my granddaughter, creating documents for our new mentor program, working on writing/giving my testimony, preparing for a trip out of state, meals that need to be planned, refrigerator that needs to be cleaned out, toilets that need to be scrubbed, a dog that needs attention, a yard that needs to be raked, a pond that needs to be prepped for winter, a car that needs to be repaired, bills that need to be paid, life.

I praise God that I can still do these things, and I give Him the reigns of my day.  He has blessed me beyond measure.  And I am grateful.  I will walk with the Lord today and accomplish all that He enables and reminds me to do.  His mercies are new every morning.  His love is overwhelming and immeasurable.

So whatever the Lord has for you today, I hope you will walk with Jesus, abounding in His grace and in His love for you. 

Be a blessing. Be encouraged.  Press on.

Philippians 4.19

Leave a Reply

