Sore Feet and Blisters – On the Path That God has Laid Out Before Me

Walking in new boots with wool socks and inner sock in the heat for hours has taken a toll on my feet.  This physical training just isn’t my normal speed, and I can feel it!  But I guess that is all part of following after the Lord.  Stepping out of my comfort zone, walking in faith, hoping for the best, and praying that God will somehow multiply the little I have to offer.  My calves ache.  My ankles cry out, “No more, for the sake of all that is reasonable, NO MORE.” But I press on.  Doing my best to stay mentally positive.  I finally found some ear buds for my ipod so I can worship as I walk to music other than my own voice.  I look strange enough as it is, walking sticks, hiking boots, hat, water pack, waist pack.  People are either freaked out at the sight of me or they smile and wave.  Not much in between.  Yesterday one little boy hollered “hello” followed by “What are those things you have in your hands?”.  I’m sure I’m quite the sight.

Being different in this world is the whole point isn’t it?  Being in the world and not of the world.  Physical discipline and spiritual discipline are quite similar.  They require time, practice, intentionality and heart.  As I am slowly urging my body to meet larger and larger goals, I am also spending more and more time in prayer, in scripture meditation and in worship. 

I don’t know how this is all going to end or where exactly this path will take me, but God is leading the way and I am following Him as best I can.  I am thankful for the peaceful mornings, the sunrises, and the songs of the birds.  As my body aches, my soul is being renewed.  God will be with me every step of the way.  This is only the beginning.  I journey on.Imagep

Leave a Reply

