Warning: Challenges Ahead

Goals. Challenges. Growth. Doing something you don’t really think you can do. Following after God when you don’t know why or where you are headed.  I have a pinterest board named “Motivating & Encouraging” (because I need it!)  One of my pins reads: It will hurt.  It will take time.  It will require dedication.  It will require willpower.  You will need to make healthy decisions.  It requires sacrifice.  You will need to push your body to its max.  There will be temptation.  But, I promise you, when you reach your goal, it’s worth it.

Today every last one of those rings true for me.  I’ve started on a new challenge – one that I feel God has placed in my life.  But it is as if I am staring down a mountain.  It is something that I am so uncertain I’ll be able to do, that I am afraid to talk about it.  People will think I’m nuts.  There is NO WAY that is going to happen!  And what if I try and fail?  What if something prevents me from reaching my goal?  Will all this time and effort have been for nothing?  When I’m faced with such a large challenge, I wilt back into negative thinking.  Words of motivation and encouragement go a long way with me. 

So I’ve mentally broken this challenge into smaller, more manageable goals, and I’m praying that God will continue to show me the path as I press on to follow Him through a long, sometimes painful, road ahead.  Quite honestly, I’ve never tackled anything like this before.  This venture may last a year or two years or longer depending what God has planned for me.  So what is this challenge?  The el Camino de Santiago de Compostella – The Way of Saint James.  I’m confused as to why I am doing this.   I have more questions than answers, but I trust Him to reveal the whys as I walk in faithful obedience. Image

This past week was my first week of walking.  I’ll need to be physically fit to walk an average of 15 miles each day on this 38 day pilgrimage.  8.5 miles about did me in today, so I have quite a bit of training to do.  The hours alone with God have been a beautiful blessing.  The scriptures that I’ve been memorizing over this past year have been a sweet gift to help keep my mind busy (See, God knew why I needed to memorize an entire book of the Bible!).  Great prayer time.  Great worship time.  And a wonderful way to be still (while moving) to listen to God’s still, small voice.  So my next goal will be 10 miles, then 12, then 14, etc. He is challenging me in a way that will restore my health and strengthen my faith.

You shall walk in all the way that the Lord your God has commanded you, that you may live, and that it may go well with you, and that you may live long in the land that you shall possess. Deuteronomy 5:33

Leave a Reply

