My Husband

As of last month I have been married to one man for 25 years.  If I’m being honest I’d tell you that this milestone is a miracle from God.  Two sinners, two broken people who have managed to keep God at the center of our relationship and have toughed out the rough stuff together with a lot of forgiveness, grace and mercy.  The consequences and benefits of this are evidenced in our deep love for each other.  No one knows me better than my sweet boy.  No one can motivate me or demotivate me like my sweet boy.  He is my sounding board, my comic relief, my provider and protector, my spider killer, my dreamer, and my life partner.  I couldn’t be prouder of him.  He loves the Lord, serves his country, cares deeply for his family, sacrifices daily, and has a great heart that drives him to do good and work hard.

We couldn’t be more opposite on so many things in life, and I think this built-in conflict has caused us both to become better people.  The saying that opposites attract is certainly true with us.  We complement one another.  We have helped each other heal some past wounds with God’s grace.  We have raised two beautiful girls to love and follow the Lord Jesus.  And now we are enjoying our first grandchild – together.

When I think back to those difficult times, when it would have been so easy just to walk away from this relationship, I am SO thankful that God kept me firm in my commitment to stay the course.  The feeling of love waxes and wanes over time in a marriage, but I’ve found that it always returns stronger than ever when you’ve walked through a trial together and have come out on the other side of it.

This past May, my husband learned that his heart rate (which is ridiculously low) was so low it had a medical term, “bradycardia” – which I thought was fitting as his name is Brad.  That week he sent me an email that read,

Brad.y.car.di.a noun Medicine/Medical.  A slow heartbeat rate, usually less than 60 beats per minute.

Sher.y.car.di.a noun Non-Medical. Accelerated heartbeat, caused by close proximity to Sheri.

Now seriously, the boy has his moments!  Finding my husband’s right place in my life took me many years.  He isn’t God – although for a long time I treated him as if he were.  Such high expectations led to many disappointments and lots of frustration.  He is my life partner – iron sharpens iron.  Jesus is my Lord and Savior.  He alone deserves that status in my life and He will not share it with any other person, not my husband, not my children and certainly not myself.  God is a jealous God.

I am so thankful for this wonderful gift of a husband that God has given me.  Brad married me when I was just a young woman – still a child in many ways.  He has walked beside me supporting and encouraging me as God has raised me up, molded me, and shaped me into the woman I am today.  And I am thankful.  Thankful that he too hung in there and chose to follow God rather than to walk away.

Life is hard.  God is good. Mercy triumphs. Love covers.

Follow Jesus and be encouraged.

IMG_1189

Leave a Reply

