God’s To Do List – Not mine

Sometimes life takes us away from our goals and our dreams; away from the passions that God has placed in our hearts.  Sometimes we have so much to do that it is overwhelming.    As I look around me, I see a house that needs cleaning, dishes that need to be washed and put away, bills that need to be paid, laundry that is wrinkling in the dryer, a class that needs to be led, photos that need to be processed, books that should be read, sorting and organizing that REALLY needs to be tackled, fish that need to be fed, a garden that needs attention and, really, what am I supposed to do with all of these tomatoes?  All of these are good things to be doing, but are they the “good deeds that God has prepared in advance for me” to do?

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.  Ephesians 2:10

One of the primary purposes that I transitioned from working outside the house to being home full-time again was I felt, and still feel, God calling me to write.  I struggle mightily with this calling as I continue to feel ill-equipped in it, but in the end I trust Him and His provision.  It is a passion that He has placed in my heart.  So I write for a while.  Then I delay; I let life’s to do list take priority until He calls me back to it.  And I write again.  I struggle to keep His to do list a priority over life’s to do list.

God has blessed me over these past few months with many opportunities for service.  Serving others.  Connecting others to Jesus Christ and to His body of believers. Encouraging and loving on people.  Doing God’s word.  Not just reading and studying it (or writing about it – J – I promise I’m working on my obedience to the Lord!).  Many times this leads to a longer life to do list for me – but that list is becoming less and less a priority as the Lord works on changing my focus and my heart.

I hope that you will also put today’s to do list aside and follow God’s “good deeds” list that He has created for you.  Watch for opportunities – He will give you many.  Speak for Him boldly.  Love and encourage others to Christ today.  Press on.  You see when we walk with Him, obey His commands and follow His leading throughout the day, we’ll see those opportunities, be blessed by stepping in faith and in the end God graciously gives us the time and energy to get some of that other to do list done.

What passions and callings has God placed in your life?  Are you stepping out in faith and obedience to follow after Him?  Let me encourage you to do so.  You won’t ever regret it.

Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  Matthew 16:24

John 12:26, Luke 9:59, Mark 2:14, John 10:27, Matthew 9:9, Matthew 8:22, Luke 5:27, John 21:22, Matthew 10:38, John 21: 19 & 22

IMG_2221-1

Leave a Reply

