Stepping Out of My Element to Follow Jesus

We are SUCH creatures of habit!  (Well at least I know that I am.)

I’ve been staying with my son-in-love and my daughter for the past 9 days.  I can feel it in my body – changes in how I’ve been eating and moving and sleeping are all catching up to me!  Such a sad state of affairs.  I am ready to get back to my home, my house, my bed.  As much as I love being here, my body loves being home.

As they were going along the road, someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.” (Luke 9:57-58, ESV)

Wait – no home.  My Lord Jesus had no home.  Not here on earth anyway!  If I am to follow Jesus this is my lot – out of my element, out of my comfort zone, away from home.  The older I get, the harder this seems to be.  Has home become an idol?  I must examine how much I love being at home in light of my service to Jesus.  Am I willing to sacrifice comfort, normal, known environment, familiar objects, safety, and closeness to loved ones, in order to follow Jesus?  I hope so.

I’ll be headed to El Salvador in less than 2 months.  I’ll be gone for just one week to serve others in the name of Jesus in a country that takes me out of my element.  A different language, a different culture, a different climate.  But I’m willing to follow where Jesus leads me, and I hope that I’ll appreciate home more as a result.

Lord Jesus, give me such a passion for serving others that this longing for home is insignificant.  Help me to never choose staying home over serving others in Your name.  Send me out, fill me up, use me.  Amen.

IMG_0441

Leave a Reply

