Waiting on Natalie

Today I was blessed to have a wonderfully relaxing day with my first born.  She is due any time with her first born, and we are simply waiting expectantly to meet our Natalie and hold her for the first time.  Ready to count fingers and toes, to see who she resembles, and to touch soft cheeks.  Becoming a grandmother is a brand new experience for me and one I’ve heard others speak so fondly of.

God’s plan for life, the miracle of life and birth and death just astounds me.

Sam maternity color - Copy (2)

For you formed my inward parts;

you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Wonderful are your works;

my soul knows it very well.

My frame was not hidden from you,

when I was being made in secret,

intricately woven in the depths of the earth.

Your eyes saw my unformed substance;

in your book were written, every one of them,

the days that were formed for me,

when as yet there was none of them. (Psalm 139:13-16, ESV)

Our hopes and dreams for our first granddaughter are already forming.  We pray for her safe delivery, her parents to teach her the ways of God and for her to embrace all that God has created her to be.  The easy, fun and beautiful aspects of who she will be as well as the struggles, the failures and the shortcomings.  All are gifts from God used to shape us, and mold us; to be remade for His purposes.

Thank You Lord Jesus for the creation of new life.  Thank you Lord for Your provision and protection.  Thank You Lord for Your love of every child.  May we rise to Your commands of raising godly offspring for Your kingdom.  Help her parents to look to You for guidance and not to parent out of fear or guilt.  Help them overcome the failures of my/our own parenting.  Help them to see past her childish behaviors and into her heart.  Help them speak words of love, growth, encouragement, challenge and discipline as she needs them.  Let Your scriptures rule in their home with love covering them all.  Amen.

One thought on “Waiting on Natalie

Leave a Reply

