Acquiring (Earth vs Heaven / Now vs Eternity)

One look around my house, no actually just one look around one room of my house, and you’ll see all the evidence you need to convict me of the crime. Acquiring. I’ve been acquiring things. Things of this world “ where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal” (Matthew 6:19 ESV). Things that are supposed to make life easier. Things that I enjoy. Things that make my home “pretty”. Things that I’m uncertain of where they came from and what they’re for. Things.

This year will be the year of lesser things and of more room for people. “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21 ESV) Less time spent managing, cleaning, sorting, moving things and more time and energy for people. Time to invest in the treasures of heaven that really matter and will last for eternity.

The hording shows have always fascinated me.  The truth of the matter is that the only difference between hoarders and myself is that I am willing to let go of these things.  I over indulge myself with things that I think will be useful, and maybe they are for a time, but in the end I resort to hauling van loads of unused or no longer used items to goodwill to make room in my home for more things.

GoodwillI see the futility and wastefulness and now confess my sins and turn in repentance.  It is a new day.  The Lord is doing a new thing in my life.  Time to simplify and focus on heavenly treasures.

We were told of a man who lives with only 500 things (house 1, bed 2, toothbrush 3, towel 4, car 5, etc.).  It made me wonder how few things I could live on.  One morning while getting ready for our day I asked my husband if he thought we could ever live on just 500 things.  Then he opened up our linen closet, took one look, closed the door and said “nope”.  He’s right.  We need to start with baby steps, but I am jumping in with both feet.  Lord show me who to bless with my excess.  Help me to question every purchase until I have relinquished complete control to You and you have changed my heart to only desire heavenly treasure.  Thank You for the blessings you have given me that will last for eternity.  Thank You for changing my heart.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

