Praise & Worship

IMG_5957I am starting my day off early before the sun rises – beginning the day with God.

I’m watching the sun come up just outside the window behind my computer screen while Matt Redman’s words are echoing in my soul and on my lips.  Bless the Lord O my soul, Ooooo my soul, worship His holy name!

I spent 45 minutes exercising my body because I’ve overindulged my eating desires and my body isn’t getting any younger.  It is increasingly difficult to “stay in shape” – which for me means being able to clean my house without getting winded!  I want to praise God with all I am.  I want to keep my temple in adequate condition by being a good steward of the body that temporarily houses my soul.  I want to be able each day to sing praises to my Lord.

Psalm 146:1-2

Praise the Lord!

Praise the Lord, O my soul!

I will praise the Lord as long as I live;

I will sing praises to my God while I have my being.

 In our study group last night we discussed how every activity in our day can become worship when we are engaging our hearts and minds on Jesus Christ throughout our day; singing praises while folding the laundry, or saying breath prayers when making dinner.  Living with gratitude for all that God has given us.  Having just read the book 7 by Jen Hatmaker, I am ever more mindful of eating well, using less, praising more.

Help me Lord to live a life that is pleasing to You.  Change my heart Lord.  Help me not squander Your blessings on me.  Help me to love the poor, really love them as I do my own children.  Help me to have compassion for the homeless rather than the cynicism that I’ve had in the past.  Help me to study your word and then to LIVE it.  Help me to walk every minute of this day with You.  Thank you Lord for who You are – Ywyh – I AM.

Grace can really change a heart.  Amen.

IMG_5161

Leave a Reply

