Humble Beginnings

I was looking at a picture that I have on my calendar of my grandmother, great-aunt and sister.  (Don’t you just love my aunt’s rolled down knee highs!) They are standing in front of my parent’s home which at the time was a mobile home.  It reminded me of my beginnings as a child and also of my beginnings as an adult and as a Christian.  Humble.

DSCF0255Brad and I started life in a furnished apartment – similar to life as a new Christian; I was relying on other people’s stuff – their knowledge of God’s Word, their righteous choices, their prayers.  We moved up into a mobile home; starting to stand on our own two feet and with our own stuff.  We are now in a very comfortable home (that is still in repayment) with a house full of memories and stuff that we use as well as a lot of stuff that we don’t use.

We all have to begin with God where we are.  He meets us there in the trailer park, but His desire is that we don’t remain there, that we follow Him and outgrow that humble beginning.  He has more for us to do and to be.

Romans 5: 6-9  For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die—but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God.

Thank you, Lord, for loving me and not leaving me where you found me.  And Lord, thank you for reminding me where I came from.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

