Work and Wisdom

Ecclesiastes 2:21-23

Solomon writes, “A person who has toiled with wisdom and knowledge and skill must leave everything to be enjoyed by someone who did not toil for it.  This also is vanity and a great evil.  What has a man from all the toil and striving of heart with which he toils beneath the sun?  For all his days are full of sorrow and his work is a vexation.”

IMG_4915So why bother?  Why bother getting up and setting about your work?  Why did God bother to create us to work?  Do all our daily efforts amount to nothing?

Well, I’m sitting in a house I did not build, typing on a computer that I did not make (nor do I truly understand how all the parts work).  Later, I will eat food that I did not plant, tend or harvest.  I am thankful today for the hands who have toiled to make my life easier.  Had they not done their work, I could not do mine.

Maybe the purpose is to show us how interdependent we truly are.  Maybe the purpose is for someone else’s benefit, rather than just our own.  Maybe our wisdom, knowledge and skill are to be used (in ways we can’t even imagine) to bring glory to God as well as to benefit the people around us.

So today I will toil for God’s glory.  Let me not cling to the things of this world, but let me hold them with an open hand – ready to give to those in need.  Lord, help me to do the work that you’ve prepared for me to do so that I may be a blessing to others in Your holy name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

