Growing in My Walk with Jesus Christ

I call myself a Christian.  I attend a local church, am active in serving.  My husband and I give not only to our church but to the poor and needy both with our check book and with our time and efforts.  I lead discipleship classes. I study scripture and pray daily.  God has more for me.  He commands more of me. I have so much more to learn.  I have so many character traits that need to be re-made by the hand of God.

I know that when I come to God with an open, humble heart and ask Him to reveal more of Himself to me that I’m in for a blessing and for a challenge.  I deeply desire to know Him better, to love the things that He loves and to hate the things that He hates.  I want Him to reveal any sin in my life to me so that I may repent of it and grow in Him.

As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”  1Peter 1:14-16

Striving to live in the world yet not be of the world.  Living a life set apart for God, stumbling as I go, and seeking and receiving forgiveness for my shortcomings.  I need a lot of grace each day from God and from the people in my life.  I am learning to accept everyone for who they are, where they are and hopefully to be gracious and loving in all that I do.  This has been quite a challenge for me as I strive toward the goal.

The newest challenge before me has come from a desire placed in my heart by God.  A desire to give more of my abundant blessings away to benefit others.  A realization of how much I have in light of the lives of the majority of this earth’s inhabitants.  I have been stingy.  I have seen others in need and done nothing.  I don’t want to be that hard-hearted any longer.

What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.  James 2:14-17

Help me, Lord, to let go of the material things that I have and desire to have so that someone else may have them.  Work through me to pour out Your love on those who need to know You as Savior and Lord.

Leave a Reply

