On Earth as it is in Heaven

Unexpected stirrings.  This is revival for me.  God has been moving my heart to a place of brokenness over my own choices.  Frustrated and desiring more from  fellowship with other believers, frustrated with Worship time, frustrated with the same old “religion”, God is moving my heart to an uncomfortable place.  He’s giving me a love for the things He loves and a broken heart over the things that break His heart. He’s giving me a reason to move for His kingdom, to step out in bold faith again to follow Him.

I’ve taken on a new mantra:  live for God’s glory; bearing fruit, the fruit of faith.

This morning in worship we sang Hosanna. 

  • Hosanna “Show me how to love like You have loved me.  Break my heart for what breaks yours.  Everything I am for Your Kingdom’s cause as I walk from earth into eternity.”

God has a wonderful way of gently pulling us along.  Even in difficult times, if we are willing to look for the lessons He is teaching us, we’ll find unbelievable wisdom and grace.  He has unexpectedly softened my heart.  It was a painful process.  He took my heart of stone and replaced it with a heart of flesh.  He made me reexamine things I have struggled with and dismissed.  I had to reassess my previous conclusions and beliefs in light of His Word.

Things that previously seemed impractical or even impossible I now realize simply take small steps of FAITH.  Richard Stearns states in his book “The Hole in Our Gospel”:

“I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you” (Matthew 17:20). I used to read that verse and think that it was just an exaggeration that Jesus was making in order to make a point about the power of faith. We can’t literally move mountains… can we? But then I saw it in a different way. What of Jesus meant for millions of His followers to each put their faith into action by grabbing a shovel – and challenging the mountain one shovelful at a time? Any mountain can be moved – even the one called Poverty, or Hunger, or Injustice – if we have enough people shoveling.

I am guilty of not shoveling.  Guilty of having little faith.  Guilty of thinking, “The mountain is too big!” I am too little (as if I were the key).  John 6:1-15; I’ve read this passage many times.  I know better than to believe lies; I know the truth that faith in God multiplies the little I have to offer and when combined with the faith of other believers – mountains are moved, people are changed, God is glorified.

Your Kingdom Come,

Your will be Done,

On Earth as it is in Heaven! Amen.

Leave a Reply

