Family Time

I had some family time over the past few days with my girls and my boys…worked some, played some, worshiped some, ate some, slept some…blessed by the Lord much.  Had some thinking time and listening time with God as I prepare to facilitate a new group – sharing the Good News and being obedient to God’s call.

At church this morning – not our home church but first time visiting a church away from home – the lesson was on Colossians chapter 3, learning the Word, teaching the Word, and having a song in our heart…something to sing about.  I was touched as I watched a couple pray with a gal who went forward on crutches in need of prayer.  I couldn’t hear the words, but I watched as the faithful woman prayed to our God on behalf of this young gal…as tears flowed in angst, seeking healing and hope from our Lord….all the while the congregation was singing Holy Holy Holy, Lord God Almighty.  It reminded me of watching my own children go forward to the altar in prayer.  My mother’s heart just bleeds for them and rejoices that they are seeking God, all at the same time, bringing a flow of tears.  This young gal with the injured leg was someone’s daughter….God’s daughter.  I imagine that our heavenly father’s heart bleeds and rejoices as we approach Him, seeking Him, needing Him.

Deut 6:6-9 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.

God has commanded us to teach our children His Word and His ways.  Our family time must include our Heavenly Father in all we do.

Leave a Reply

