Destiny

You are the commander of your own destiny – right?  Well I guess in a way you are.  You make the decisions to either walk with God or to walk your own path without God.  Some even try to walk the fence – some things of God, some pleasures of the world.

I’ve been thinking about those decision points in my life and the major events that have shaped who I am, where I am, what I pursue, etc.  But in doing so I am reminded that “no man is an island”.  My decisions affect others around me in ways I’ll never know.  When I submit those decisions to God, then He, the master designer who has better vision than I, guides my path – along with those around me.

But what is our response when life goes out of our control?  Do we jump to, “I didn’t sign up for this!” or “Why me?”?  Or can we rest in knowing God and trusting His love for us?  Beth Moore says that, “My God is bigger!”. God is bigger than our situations, our trials, our illnesses, our limitations.  Life with God is more than just this life here on earth.  He has more in store for us.  He is trustworthy.  He is good.

Romans 8:26-28  Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.

And there are the occasions where we choose not to walk with Him.  Sometimes He lets us go on our  own way until life beats us down, and we turn to Him for help.  Other times He disciplines those He loves.

Hebrews 12:5-7  And have you forgotten the exhortation that addresses you as sons?

“My son, do not regard lightly the discipline of the Lord,
nor be weary when reproved by him.
  For the Lord disciplines the one he loves,
and chastises every son whom he receives.”

It is for discipline that you have to endure. God is treating you as sons.

He wants to change our hearts to be right with Him.  He loves us and desires what is best for all His children.  Sometimes we need a bit of pruning away the excess and trials to strengthen our faith.  So to glorify God and fulfill your God-given destiny, trust and obey.

Leave a Reply

