All Joy

James 1:2-4  Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

The trial we are meeting is the possible government shut down.  Not knowing if we will have an income next week.  Not knowing how long a shut down might last. Not knowing if we would get back pay should they all go back to work. Not knowing if he will go back to work. Not knowing.

I’m back to that old test, the one I’ve failed so miserably so many times before;  will I choose to fear the unknown or will I choose to trust God.  I’m going with God this time.  My anxiety level as been relatively low over this whole lack of income issue, and I give God all the glory for that victory.  Choosing – learning to trust God in ALL things is pure JOY.  There is absolutely nothing that my anxiety can change about our circumstances.  It will only harm me and the others around me.

So I press on.  Keeping my eyes on my Father and rejoicing at every trial – rejoicing that God loves me and works all things out for the good of those who love Him.  We will suffer in this fallen world, yet we have the assurance of God’s promises – the blessing of God’s presence – the steadfastness that leaves us lacking nothing.  Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

Leave a Reply

