I have a cold….

You know the type…where if you could just get someone to chop off your head, you would feel 100% better.  The kind where “sniffles” doesn’t describe the amount of mucus your body is currently producing.  Where none of the over-the-counter medications helps for more than 5 minutes.

I guess I’m somewhat improved over last night’s fever situation. But I am miserable all the same.  It is funny how even the slightest level of discomfort will keep us focused on ourselves.  As if this wasn’t already a problem.  But try to fully engage a child in play when you are under the weather.  It is a daunting task indeed.  Even greater still is trying to focus on my Heavenly Father – to meditate and pray.  Just the act of bowing my head causes fluids to move to places where I don’t want them.

The human body that God created is really remarkable.  I know that is an understatement, but being that I’m ill, there are a few things I’d like to fix…

How our bodies fight off infections and viruses.  How our skin heals after being wounded.  How blood cells are replenished.  Incredible stuff.  I praise God tonight – through my “sniffles” – that He, my creator, is making me well not just physically but spiritually.  How my soul is healed after being wounded out in this rough world.  One day this old physically body will be of no use to me, 1 Corinthians 15 “42 So will it be with the resurrection of the dead. The body that is sown is perishable, it is raised imperishable; 43 it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory; it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power; 44 it is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body.”

Oh, how I look forward to the day that God will give me an imperishable body, raised in glory and power!  Come Lord Jesus!

Leave a Reply

